Where Are Your Eyes?

Standard

a645b9f641c09ed73728b7a35155238bI love this advice!  One of my favorite hymns is called Lord, I Would Follow Thee written by Susan Evans McCloud.

The lyrics are:

Savior, may I learn to love thee,
Walk the path that thou hast shown,
Pause to help and lift another,
Finding strength beyond my own.
Savior, may I learn to love thee-
Lord, I would follow thee.

Who am I to judge another
When I walk imperfectly?
In the quiet heart is hidden
Sorrow that the eye can’t see.
Who am I to judge another?
Lord, I would follow thee.

I would be my brother’s keeper;
I would learn the healer’s art.
To the wounded and the weary
I would show a gentle heart.
I would be my brother’s keeper-
Lord, I would follow thee.

Savior, may I love my brother
As I know thou lovest me,
Find in thee my strength, my beacon,
For thy servant I would be.
Savior, may I love my brother-
Lord, I would follow thee.

I love this version of the song.  Little piece of trivia.  The girl singing it was one of the 80s band The Jets.  Neat huh?  Have not heard that name in a while.  Beautiful voice.  Even more beautiful message.

Simple and to the point.  The words describe who I want to become, but also something else.  It teaches us not to be judgmental because you do not know what sorrow or scars are hidden in another’s heart.  I know so much can hide behind a smile and any other emotional reflection.  Be gentle with yourself and others.

Have a wonderful rest of the night and evening, hey, only 45 minutes left in the day here in Georgia. 🙂

Thanks for reading! ~Shanna

 

 

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
One response »

  1. Pingback: Oh Have Mercy! | Reclaiming My Narnia

Leave a Reply

